The eagles are back! Join the fun with City of Fort Collins Master Naturalists at Fossil Creek Reservoir this winter. Bald eagles from the north make Fort Collins their winter home. They spend nights in communal roosts in cottonwood trees near the reservoir. Eagle Watch programs include a short walk along a paved trail to a viewing pier. Master Naturalists will explain their natural history and help visitors view them through spotting scopes and binoculars.

Please note that the viewing pier is open year round but Cattail Flats Trail is closed in the winter to prevent disturbance to these birds. Fossil Creek Reservoir Natural Area (formerly Fossil Creek Reservoir Regional Open Space) is located on the north side of Carpenter Road/ CR 32, approximately one mile west of I-25, or two miles east of Timberline.

Drop in any time during these programs. They are free and no registration is required.

Sunday, Dec. 15 3-4:30 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 20 3-4:30 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 22 3-4:30 p.m.
Monday, Dec. 23 3-4:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Dec. 25 3-4:30 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 27 3-4:30 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 29 3-4:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Jan. 1 3:30-5 p.m.
Saturday, Jan. 11 3:30-5 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 14 3-5 p.m.
Sunday, Jan. 19 3-5 p.m.
Saturday, Jan. 25 3:30-5 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 31 3:30-5 p.m.
Sunday, Feb 2 4-5:30 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 8 4-5:30 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 16 4-5:30 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 21 4-5:30 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 23 4-5:30 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 28 4-5:30 p.m.

Visit www.fcgov.com/naturalareas for weather cancelations and updates before you go.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Share →

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:


Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop us a note so we can take care of it!